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VIRGINTIA: ?II?CIRCUIT COURT OF FAIRFAX COUNTY

John C. Depp, II MOTI T

ainiitl
/ vs. 0DSIP 14 PM 3:25  Civil Action No. C1.2019 0002911
.JOH:J T‘ FREN vious Chancery No
Amber Laura Heard CLER.{L}': Clrcyry E:U{URT Previous Chancery No. - €Il
Defendant Faltir VK, VA

SERVE;

FRIDAY MOTIONS DAY - PRAECIPE/NOTICE

Moving Party- Plamtiff I:I Defendant |:| Other

Title of Motion Motion to Sustain Demurrer, Plea in Bar to Counterclaims ] Awached [ Previousty Filed

DATE TO BE HEARD Fridaya OCtOber 16: 2020 Time Estimate (combined 1o more than 30 nunutes) 30 miHUtes
Time to be Heard. D 9 00 a.m with a Judge L:_l 9-00 a.m. without a Judge
m QP_-.‘O“O‘ 10:00 a.m {Civi! Action Cases). Dogs this motion require 2 weeks notice? Yes D No
D_l 1:30 a.m (DOMESTIC/Fanuly Law Cases) Does this motion require 2 weeks notice? D Yes _E_'_No
Case continued from: continued to:
(Datc) (Date)
d
glovmg party will use Court Call telephonic appearance: D Yes No
L} H .
Judge Bruce D. White must hear this motion because (check one reason below):
Dﬁ The matter s on the docket for presentation of an order reflecting a specific ruling previously made by that Judge.
E_ This Judge has been assigned to this entire case by the Cluef Judge, or,
f.-] The Judge has advised counsel that all futurc motions, or this specific motion, should be placed on this Judge’s
Docket; or,
Q_ Thts matter concerns a demurrer filed in a case where that Judge previously granted a demurrer 1n favor of demurrant
PRAECIPE by: Benjamin G. Chew Brown Rudnick, LLP
Pnnted Attomey Name/ Movieg Party Name Firm Name
601 Thirteenth Street, NW, Suite 600, Washington, D C. 20037
Addiess
(202) 536-1785 (617) 289-0717 29113 bchew@brownrudnick com
Tel No tax No V5B No E-Mail Address

CERTIFICATIONS
I certity that T have in good faith confened or attempted to confer with other affected partics in an effort to resolve the
subjecct of the motton without Court action, pursuant to Rule 4 15(b) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, and,
I'have rcad, and complied with, each of the Instructions for Moving Party on the reverse side of this form

!owng Party/Counsel ot Record

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

Icerufy on the 14th  day of September , 2020 , a true copy of the foregotng Praecipe was

J:]_ mailed [7] faxed [¥] delivered to all counsel of record pursuant to the provisions of Rule 4-15(e) of the Rules of
the Supreme Court of Virgima

CCR-L-10 (Jan 2018}



INSTRUCTIONS FOR MOVING PARTY

DATE/TIME: All motions should be noticed for the 10 00 a m. Civil Action Docket or the 11:30 a m Domestic/Family Law
Docket (All Divorce cases, adoptions and Juvenile & Domestic Relations Court Appeals) unless the moving party believes the
motion will be uncontested All motions believed to be uncontested should be noticed for 9:00 a.m All motions noticed for
9.00 a.m should be sct without a judge, unless evidence will be required (e.g., Ex Parte Proof, Infant Settlements, Fiduciary
Matters), or if 1t is necessary for the order to be cntered that morning rather than in chambers at a later time. A minimum of
two weeks® notice is required for all motions for Summary Judgment, Demurrers, Pleas in Bar, motions pertaining to
discovery disputes and other motions for which any party desires to file 2 memorandum. A memorandum of points and
authonties of five pages or less must accompany any of these pleadings and any other motion placed on the Two Week
Docket If either party belicves it necessary to file a memorandum exceeding five double-spaced pages, then the parties must
utilize the Bnefing Schedule procedure: contact epposing counsel or the apposing party and by agreement conduct a
telephone conference call with the Calendar Control Judge, (703) 246-2221; or, 1f agreement 1s not possible, give advance
notice of an appcarance before the Calendar Control Judge to establish a Bricfing Schedule

Each side should bring a draft proposed order to Court on the day of the hearing, as the ruling must be reduced to an
order that day, absent Eeave of Court. Cases may only be removed from the docket by the Court or by counsel for the
moving party or the moving party. One Week Motions may be removed from the docket up until 4.00 p.m. on the Thursday
preceding the hearing date, by contacting the Motions Clerk. (703) 246-4355 Two Week Motions may not be continued or
removed from the docket after 4 00 p m. on the Friday preceding the heaning date, without leave granted by the Judge
assigned to hear the motion, for good cause shown.

If a hearmg on any motion must take longer than thirty (30) minutes, the moving and responding parties, or their counscl,
should appear before the Calendur Control Judge to request a hearing for a day other than a Friday. Sec, “Motions Requinag
More than 30 Minutes” in “Friday Motions Docket Procedures™ on the Court’s website at

https Hwww fairfaxcounty gov/oircuit/sites/circuit/files/assets/documents/pdf/civil-friday-motions-docket-procedures pdf

MOTIONS TO RECONSIDER: Do not set a Motion to Reconsider for a heaning (See Friday Motions Docket Procedures,
avatlable from the Clerk’s Office, the Bar Association office or on the Court’s website at the address above.

CERTIFICATIONS OF MOVING PARTY/COUNSEL: Rule 4 15 (b) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia
provides m pertinent part that “Absent Iecave of court, and except as provided in paragraph (c) of thts Rule, reasonable notice
shall be in wniting and served at least seven days before the hearing Counsel of record shall make a reasonable effort to
confer before giving notice of a motion to resolve the subject of the motion and to determine a mutually agreeable hcaring
date and time.”

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE- Pursuant to Rulc 4 15 {e), a motions pleading shall be deemed served when it is actually
received by, or in the office of, counsel of record through delivery, marhing, or facsimile transmission: not when 1t 1s mailed or
sent.

INFORMATION FOR MOVING PARTY

COURTCALL TELEPHONIC APPEARANCE In most cases, Virginia attorneys may appear by phone m heu of
appearing in Court for the hearing, To sct up a telephonic appearance, you must call (888) 882-6878. For information, please
visit the Court's website at htips-//www fayrfaxcounty gov/errcuit/services/courteall - The Clerk’s Office prefers that you
notify it that you have set up a telephonic appcarance by calling (703) 246-2880 no later than 4.00 p m. on Thursday prior to
the hearing date. The Court encourages use of this procedure, and either party may appear by phone.

NOTE: Telephonic appearance is only for members of the Virginia State Bar and licensed attorneys allowed to practice pro
hac vice 1n the Fairfax County Circuit Court (with a member of the Virginia State Bar present over the phone or i person)

CONCILIATION PROGRAM- The Fairfax Circuit Court strongly encourages use of conciliation procedures to resolve
motions. The Fairfax Bar Association’s Conciliation Program conducts conciliation without charge by experienced hitigators,
who meect in person or by telephone with all interested parties. To request conciliation, fax a Request for Conciliation form to
the Fax Hotline, (703) 273-1274, e-mail a request for conciliation to: ffxconcihatron@aol com: or leave a voice mail message
at (703) 627-1228 You will be contacted before the hearing date by a representative of the Conciliation Program.

CCR-E-10 (Jan 2018)





